🔥 Free Monthly Webinars (30 minutes): Check out the schedule! Extremely Popular (Don't miss out) 🔥Learn More

National Construction Code ("NCC")

National Construction Code ("NCC")
National Construction Code NCC BCA 2019 Overview

The National Construction Code (“NCC”) is a series of documents published by the Australian Building Codes Board (“ABCB”) to provide a nationally consistent framework for the construction of buildings and structures throughout Australia.

The NCC currently comprises three volumes;

  • Building Code of Australia, Volume One (Class 2 to Class 9 Buildings)
  • Building Code of Australia, Volume Two (Class 1 and Class 10 Buildings)
  • Plumbing Code of Australia, Volume Three

In Australia, the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900 (“the Constitution”) sets out the roles and responsibilities of the federal and state governments. By convention, matters not specifically addressed in the Constitution remain the power of the States and Territories.

In 1991, the Council of Australian Governments (“COAG”) accepted a recommendation to establish a new body with the objective of once again reforming building codes throughout Australia. In 1994 the Australian Building Codes Board (“ABCB”) was established, leading to a performanced-based building code, published in 1996.

Since 2003 the ABCB has produced the National Construction Code accommodating and documenting ongoing developments and performance requirements in construction related to health, safety, amenity, construction materials and methods.

More Information


    In preparing this definition, we have drawn from various sources including Legislation, Codes, Standards and industry information, research and knowledge.  Like the english language, these definitions may subtly change from time to time. As such these definitions are provided solely on the basis that users will be responsible for making their own assessment of the definition and and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.