🔥 Free Monthly Webinars (30 minutes): Check out the schedule! Extremely Popular (Don't miss out) 🔥Learn More

Inspect and Test (FPAS)

Inspect and Test (FPAS)

Inspect and Test is a class of accreditation within the Fire Protection Accreditation Scheme ("FPAS") operated by Fire Protection Association Australia. Inspect and test accredits companies (recognised business) and individuals who who undertake the routine servicing activities as described in Australian Standard AS 1851 — Routine servicing of fire protection systems and equipment in one or more of ten different categories. Individuals accredited under the Scheme must ultimately demonstrate competency to provide services for which they are accredited via an objective, formal assessment process.

FPAS Inspect and Test Categories

Given the diversity of skills and competency of individuals required of people who undertake inspect and test work in the fire protection industry, the FPAS Inspect and Test scheme provides for 10 categories of accreditation as follows;

Category Level
Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems R C
Fire Pumpsets R C
Fire Hydrant Systems R C
Fire Detection and Alarm Systems R C
Gaseous Fire Suppression Systems   C
Pre-engineered fire suppression systems (non-gaseous)   C
Portable fire equipment and fire hose reels   C
Fire and smoke doors   C
Fire seals and collars   C
Exit and emergency lighting   C



In preparing this definition, we have drawn from various sources including Legislation, Codes, Standards and industry information, research and knowledge.  Like the english language, these definitions may subtly change from time to time. As such these definitions are provided solely on the basis that users will be responsible for making their own assessment of the definition and and are advised to verify all relevant representations, statements and information.